MINNEAPOLIS – In the Augsburg Invitational with nearly 300 hundred wrestlers, Southwest Minnesota State had 12 wrestlers and five unattached wrestlers place in the top 10.

Andrew Petersen wrestled at 285 and let the way placing second in the gold bracket and going 2-1 on the day. Petersen won in a tiebreaker over Ethan Hofacker (Augsburg) (TB-1 3-2). Petersen went on win by decision over Lucius Rinehart (Platteville) (Dec 6-4). In the first-place match, Petersen was defeated in sudden victory by Konrad Ernst (La Crosse) (SV-1 3-1).

Neil Hanson, 197, earned second place in the silver bracket after falling by major decision to Cooper Stigsell (Central) (Maj 11-3). Hanson came back to win the next two matches by tech fall over Joseph Cunha (Dakota Wesleyan) (TF 16-0) and Jian Joobeen (Luther) (TF 15-0).

Cortez Arredondo and teammate Zach Beaumaster met in the consolation match at 157 to both earn third place as Arredondo went 1-1 and Beaumaster went 2-1.

Cole Hennen, 184, won by tech fall over Dominic Skawiniak (St. Johns) (Fall 1:36) then won by decision in the quarterfinal over Solomon Nielsen (Augsburg) (Dec 13-6). Hennen fell in the semifinal to John Keifer (Luther) (Dec 3-2). Hennen won by decision in the third-place match over Ira Kuehn (Luther) (Dec 5-3).

Jackson Ryan, 197, took home third place in the gold bracket with a victory by decision over Hunter Weaver (Luther) (Dec 7-4). Ryan went on to defeat Adam Gusky (La Crosse) (Dec 6-5). Ryan then fell by decision in the semifinal to Lance Benick (Augsburg) (Dec 7-3) before taking third place as Nick Baumler (Upper Iowa) had to forfeit (medical).

2018 Auggie-Adidas Invitational Results

Southwest Minnesota State competes next hosting St. Cloud State in the conference opener on Thursday, Nov. 29 at 7 p.m in the PE Gym.

Gold Bracket
125: Willie Meine, 2-2 – 6th place
133: Brock Buysse, 3-1 – 7th place
149: Riley Altenburg, 0-2 (unattached)
157: Cortez Arredondo, 1-1 – 3rd place
157: Zach Beaumaster, 2-1 –3rd place
165: Kegen Fingalsen, 3-1 – 5th place
165: Nick VonRuden, 2-2 – 8th place
174: Dru Kuchenbaker, 3-1 – 7th place
174: Griffin Osing, 2-2 – 6th place
184: Cole Hennen, 3-1 – 3rd place
197: Jackson Ryan, 3-1 – 3rd place
197: Ben Thompson, 2-2
285: Andrew Petersen, 2-1 – 2nd place

Silver Bracket
125: Ben Emrich, 3-1 – 3rd place (unattached)
133: Hunter Pfantz, 1-2 – 4th place (unattached)
141: Justin Sampson, 3-1 – 5th place ( unattached)
141: Lorenzo Diaz, 0-2 (unattached)
149: Dallas Hooper, 1-2 (unattached)
157: Nathan Moore, 3-1 – 5th place (unattached)
157: Jordan Peterson, 1-2 (unattached)
165: Hayden Voxland, 2-1 – 5th place (unattached)
184: Hunter Connor, 0-2 (unattached)
197: Neil Hanson, 2-1 – 2nd place
285: Gage Wevley, 1-2 (unattached)

Click Here: Fjallraven Kanken Art Spring Landscape Backpacks

Check out Mustangs Wrestling at smsumustangs.com and on Twitter.

View More College News

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *